Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sharp.

LC42SV49U

The LC-42SV49U is a 42" Class (42" Diagonal) LCD TV featuring true 16:9 1366 x 768 resolution and dual HDMI and component inputs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LC42SV49U
Review 1 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent picture
November 28, 2011
tony
Pros: 1080p, 4 hdmi inputs at 1080p, amazing picture, stock sound isn't that bad
Cons: no optical slot for sound
Picked this up on black Friday, first HDTV, crystal clear picture on tv channels with 720p and up, great for movies and sports. I'm not sure why the back of the tv isn't pictured correctly, it has 2 hd component slots in the back along with a standard component slot (yellow, white and red). Besides that I'm extremely pleased, great price, can't wait to play some xbox on it, and watch some hd movies, to see the quality. 1080i tv movies look great on it. Very happy with this purchase.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Tv
November 27, 2011
Alex
, Georgia
Pros: claraity sound quality price connectivity
Cons: color a little off out of the box
The tv is good for the money. more money will obviously get something better..but this tv could easily have been worth twice as much. the sound quality is good. most cheaper tvs crackle at loud volumes, but this one stays composed. the features on the tv like ambient light sensor makes for optimum viewing. crisp definition. nice size. lots of connection ports like 4 HDMIs. all in all a good buy. clarity is comparable to samsungs and sonys i have. the refresh rate and color moay not match up as exactly but i got the other two tvs calibrated by best buy and didnt get this one calibrated so thats not a fair test.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great picture
November 26, 2011
elspeth
We've had this tv for 2 days now and absolutely love it. Way better quality than my parents vizio. HD picture is awesome and it has good sound. Can't wait to see more with it and looking forward to exploring more of it's features.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!
November 26, 2011
Cathy
, Burlington, VT
The screen is crystal clear, I love this TV. I just love it, it's beautiful and and high def. movies look great. I regret nothing about this purchase.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome clarity
November 26, 2011
tvman
it is an awesome television i got it for a great price so i bought 2 and do i love them its only my 3rd hdtv but its by far the best ive bought
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AWESOME PRODUCT FOR A GREAT BF PRICE!
November 26, 2011
Lima
, NJ
Pros: price, quality, warranty, specs
Cons: ugly remote? lol
I had to wait for this baby, but it was definitely worth the sweat and tears. :) I'm so happy with this TV! Woo!
Review 7 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stop complaining
November 26, 2011
CJ
, Gurnee, IL
Pros: easy set up, nice picture, lots of hdmi cables
Cons: no dvi input
Ok, I waited 24 hours in a best buy line to get this TV, if anything i should be picky. This TV is a great set, it's easy set up, enough hdmi cables, and the TV has a nice picture. I spent 200 dollars on a 42 inch TV there is nothing that can compair to that. So everyone needs to stop complaining and if you are extremely worried about a extremely amazing picture have fun spending a 1000 more than i did
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Black Friday $200
November 26, 2011
Mario T
, New Brunswick, NJ
Pros: the picture quality
Cons: nothing
this t.v is perfect it looks great all you have to do i fix up the picture settings and omg it look perfect. i bought 2 for $200 each
Review 9 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Black Friday
November 26, 2011
Jake
, SLC, UT
I just got this TV on black friday and I love it. I would buy two of them if I could.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent TV
November 25, 2011
Slick
Pros: picture quality
Great picture quality.
This was a Slick Deal during the black friday sale!
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real Review
November 25, 2011
Jersey Fresh
, New York
Pros: price
Cons: cheap remote controler
All of the reviews of this TV that are written before November 25th 2011 are bunk! This tv is a Best Buy exclusive for black friday, It was not available for sale before that date. I purchased 3 of them on black friday, one for myself and the others as gifts. The picture is crystal clear. I have the TV playing right now as I type this and the picture is amazing. Just as clear as my $1,400 Samsung 1080p tv. The only cheap part of the TV is the remote control, however its not that horribly cheap.
Review 12 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rich people..
November 25, 2011
schaf
, michigan
Coming from someone who's never had HD televisions, i think the tv is great. Great for the price definitely.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice reviewers
November 25, 2011
apeman
How could the first two reviewers who gave this a 1 have reviewed a product that was not released until the 25th that's TODAY. so sad
I suggest if you're interested in this TV go see one and decide for yourself.
Review 14 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unexpected Quality
November 25, 2011
Movie Man
, Fredericksburg, VA
Pros: many features of a pricier tv.
Cons: should have bought more than 1.
The quality is much better than expected for price
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice LCD
November 25, 2011
Daniel t
Pros: 1080p, very sharp
Cons: weighs 55 pounds
I do not agree with timmy on this one. This Tv is great. Not blurry whatsoever. I have tried every cable and it works perfectly. The HDMI works the best though because of its awesome 1080p. I got this last night and im very happy with it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REALLY YALL?
November 24, 2011
RAids
Ok heres wat is rele wierd. why are all these reviews coming out right before black friday wen this tv set is brand new and not even released yet? stop trying to lie and say you have one so u can go scoop one up cheep. yall are low lifes
Review 17 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent TV!
November 24, 2011
Mikkey
I've never had such a positive experience with a television!
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the before guy is misleading you onthe bestbuy dea
November 24, 2011
bestbye
the before guy is misleading you onthe bestbuy deal. so that you dont go and get that deal. but that idiot does not know that people are clever than him.
Review 19 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly?
November 24, 2011
Qwerty
Pros: price
Cons: idiotic reviewers giving it 1 star.
The previous reviewer is lying. This particular product was manufactured specifically for Black Friday sales, and has not yet been released. I don't know what it looks like, and neither does he. Bottom line is this. At $200, and a 2 year warranty from Sharp, how could you possibly go wrong on this purchase? Worst case senario, pick it up from Best Buy, and you have a 60 day window to return it. Even if this is only 720p, as the reviewer indicated, for this size TV, you should easily pay twice as much.
Review 20 for LC42SV49U
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tv is not out yet
November 24, 2011
TV tech is a tard
, not anywhere, california
This tv is not out yet, has never been released, this tard did not get it in September. Do not listen to his review.
1 2 >